Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Cari’s thought for the day:

So today I’m at the gym and notice a blind man and his friend working out. I’ve seen them in there before but decided to approach them (I like to be friendly and meet as many new faces as I can). As I meet the blind man he reaches out confidently, shakes my hand and introduces himself. We begin to talk and he quickly tells me that he was in a horrible accident 8 years ago where he was struck by a car and was left with life-changing injuries. He was left blind in both eyes, underwent brain surgery, and had to learn to walk and talk again. After the end of our conversation he told me how much he appreciated me acknowledging him and treating him like a normal person, then reached out, shook my hand again and thanked me for being a nurse.

I like to think everything happens for a reason although we may never know why….but I know that I met that man today to change my outlook on life. At first glance I saw a blind man in the gym- after meeting him I saw this extraordinary, amazing, strong, kind-hearted, appreciative person (and we only talked for 5 minutes). Guess my question for you is, what’s your excuse? Whenever life throws you a bad situation you have to be the one to turn it into a positive situation– which is exactly what my new friend has done. I guess being a nurse has taught me not to judge someone by their appearance or disability and I would like to challenge you to do the same. Understand that it’s not what’s on the outside that matters, it’s what’s on the inside. We all have hearts and all like to be treated with respect and kindness.

